Mayoral races in the region begin to take shape

· The Pulse
in the Regional Roundup

Edmonton's municipal election is on Oct. 18, and residents of the surrounding municipalities will also vote in their respective local elections that day.

Mayors of the 13 largest municipalities in the region make up the Edmonton Metropolitan Region Board. Of the mayors currently on the board, seven are seeking re-election, three have said they aren't (including Edmonton Mayor Don Iveson), and two have yet to announce whether they plan to run. Councillors in Leduc County appoint a mayor from amongst themselves after the election.

Here's a look at who's running for mayor in the 12 largest municipalities around Edmonton:

Beaumont: Incumbent John Stewart is running for re-election in a three-way contest. Other candidates for mayor include first-time councillor Bill Daneluik and Beaumont resident Coreina Hubert.

Devon: Incumbent Ray Ralph is seeking a second term. The city's website does not list any other candidates running for the position.

Fort Saskatchewan: Gale Katchur, who has been mayor since 2010, is running for her fourth term. The other candidate for mayor is Deanna Lennox, a Fort Saskatchewan city councillor and former RCMP member.

Leduc: Mayor Bob Young is running for his second term. Previously, he served as a city councillor since 2004. The other candidate is Lynn Schrader, a local business owner.

Leduc County: Leduc County council appoints a mayor from amongst themselves following an annual organizational meeting in October. Mayor Tanni Doblanko is running again as councillor for Division 5.

A photo of the current Edmonton Metropolitan Region Board. The makeup of the Edmonton Metropolitan Region Board will change following elections on Sept. 18, 2021. (Twitter/Edmonton Metropolitan Region Board)

Morinville: Barry Turner is seeking a second term as mayor. He is facing off against businessman Simon Boersma.

Parkland County: Current Mayor Rod Shaigec has said he won't be seeking re-election. There are currently three candidates for the position: resident Allan Gamble, financial planner Donald J. Heron, and entrepreneur Jerry Molnar.

Spruce Grove: There are currently three candidates vying for the mayor's chair: Jeff Acker and Chantal McKenzie, both Spruce Grove councillors, and Len Gierach. After serving four terms, incumbent Stuart Houston is not running for re-election.

St. Albert: Incumbent Cathy Heron is running for re-election, and there are no other candidates currently in the mix.

Stony Plain: Currently no candidates are listed in the mayoral race. An information session for candidates will be held on Sept. 9.

Strathcona County: Current mayor Rod Frank is seeking a second term. The only other person in the mayoral race is Dave Quest, a former Progressive Conservative MLA.

Sturgeon County: No candidates are listed in the mayoral race, and it is unknown if current Mayor Alanna Hnatiw is running for re-election.

Nominations close on Sept. 20.